Review: The Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2 (2017)

Rating: ★★★½

  • Rotten Tomatoes: 81%
  • Metacritic: 67
  • IMDb: 8.1

So, before I get burned at the stake by diehard fans of this phase of the MCU, let me at least make my personal case for this movie. If it’s any consolation, I’ll go ahead and give it another half a star to make it 3.5/5. In reality, that extra half-star may come from the masterfully crafted soundtrack alone, but we’ll get to that. The feel of this movie is fun, light and enjoyable, but it just screams the frustrating use of forced humor to the point where I didn’t think it would ever end. A quip here and there per act is acceptable for the most part, but the cast seemed to be spouting off jokes that couldn’t even get a snicker out of the audience almost twice a scene, if not more. While some other offhand critics have praised Gunn for his comedic savvy, it honestly came off as overwhelming for me, to put it simply.

⌈⊥⌉

I will say, if you’re planning on seeing this movie at all, please do yourself a favor and listen through the soundtrack beforehand. It may sound unusual, but some of the plot has to do with the lyrics to a few songs, surprisingly enough. Also, Brandy by Looking Glass is now one of my personal favorites, and isn’t it more enjoyable to watch a movie when you know the music? Interestingly enough, that was one of my favorite parts about the first Guardians movie, since I was relishing in Rocket annihilating someone while grooving along with Michael in I Want You Back and getting my Raspberries fix with Go All the Way. 

GotG1

There were a few scenes where the camerawork really caught my attention. Not to give too much away, but the scene with the security cameras and the arrow was masterful for a comic-based film. The colors, which have become a staple for this James Gunn franchise, were vivid and firing on all cylinders. You can even take note in the picture above at how important the coloration can be in every single scene. In my opinion, the lucid nature of the hues feed into the late 80s-early 70s nostalgia that the franchise hinges on. All around, I give the aesthetic of the movie an A+ because of the clever blend of the prism of coloration with the sentimental tunes.

✵✵✵

Now, as much as I’ve bashed the humor and described it all as forced, there were some pleasant jokes every now and then. The scene from the teaser with Baby Groot and the detonator was well executed, as well as a few others, but for the most part it was not to my liking. Exceptionality is there in little to no place with this second installment and, like my rating, it just flirts with the average; it’s made of mediocrity. Again, that may be the unpopular opinion, but I’m speaking my truth.

When you’re ugly and someone loves you, it means they love you for who you are. Beautiful people never know who to trust.

This scene was one of the very few moments where the movie actually hit me. Amidst the cheese and clichés, there was this conversation between Drax and the newly introduced Mantis. It cuts deep and applies to our own society like a line straight from a scotch-swilling, businessman in a Hitchcock film. As beautiful a scene as it was, it was close to completely masked by the ridiculousness of the rest.

–∅–

All in all, this movie comes down to an extremely specific taste in many different aspects. In my personal opinion, it’s good to be a fan of frequent, cheap jokes, lash colors, and just above average visual effects. I’d recommend a Dark Knight Trilogy or an Edward Norton Incredible Hulk above this run-of-the-mill cash cow, but again, that’s just my take.

Drew – 6/20/17 ♘

Leave a Reply

